Award Credibility for the Home Remodeling Industry

Not too long ago, around 11.4 million viewers tuned in to watch the Emmys to see who would walk away with the best series or best actor award. Throughout countless industries there are plenty of awards, but if you look past the pomp and circumstance of these events: What is the purpose of an award?

All awards recognize individuals or organizations as the best in their industry or field of competition according to a panel of industry experts– in essence, their credibility.  Below we highlight the key home design, build and remodel awards and why it’s important to you as a homeowner.

Logo img.png

Chrysalis Awards

Since 1993, The Chrysalis Awards for Remodeling Excellence recognizes residential and commercial remodeling in 28 different categories, in four different geographical regions across the country.

The competition is open to all remodel or design professionals from across the country regardless of any association exclusivity.

The regional winners are picked in each of the categories by a panel of judges. After winning in their specific region, they are placed into the group of candidates eligible for the national awards in their categories.

MA Peterson’s Project in Plymouth, winner of the Chrysalis 2017, Residential Specialty Item (National)

MA Peterson’s Project in Plymouth, winner of the Chrysalis 2017, Residential Specialty Item (National)


BATC (Builders Association of Twin Cities) ROMA Awards

Organized by BATC, this award is the closest any of these other remodeling awards will get to being like the Emmys. 

The Remodeler of Merit Awards (ROMA) are member-only distinctions that judge its applicants on client goals, challenges, solutions & overall impression of the project.Judged in seven different categories and this is always highly sought after in our area market.

This month was a 'Big Night' for us as we received the Builder's Association of the Twin Cities' 2017 ROMA Award for great quality and value of our Lower Level remodel in Plymouth, MN. 


ProRemodeler Design Awards

This national design award judges its entries based on construction quality, creativity, design/aesthetic appeal & problem solving challenges faced in designing a home. A Platinum, Gold, Silver, Bronze or “Project of the Year” winner is chosen every year.

Finding a builder who won these design awards truly proves their skill and creativity at designing a beautiful and functional home for their clients.


MA Peterson's Lower Level won 2017 Qualified Remodeler Master Design Awards a National Gold for Interior Space and National Bronze for Lower Level, a 2017 National ProRemodeler and 2017 ROMA for Lower Level



Qualified Remodeler Master Design Awards

From the Qualified Remodeler Magazine, their Master Design Awards choose Gold, Silver & Bronze projects from each of the 22 award categories.

Each project is judged on the Aesthetic Appeal, Construction Techniques, Handling of Unusual Situations, Attention to Detail, Functionality of Space, Financial Success & Overall Impression a project exuded to Qualified Remodeler’s panel of judges.

This MA Peterson Edina Kitchen won a 2016 CotY (local) and a Gold 2017 Qualified Remodeler Master Design Awards


NARI National CotY Awards

These awards are more particular than most of the awards on this list. The National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI) Contractor of the Year (CotY) awards are nationally ranked and their participation is exclusive to NARI members only.

A panel of industry experts will determine the winner of the award based on the functionality, problem-solving, aesthetics, craftsmanship, innovation & the degree of difficulty it took to complete the project that was entered (or submitted.)

Just like the Chrysalis Awards, the NARI regional winners will be re-judged on the national level and a winner is chosen from other regional winners from around the country.


Award Winning Quality

After reviewing what it takes to win these five awards, the big question is: “What does this mean to me as a homeowner?” The purpose of these awards is to bolster the recipient’s credibility. These awards denote that this particular builder/remodeler has accredited design and building expertise that surpassed other applicants in their industry. Winning several of these awards year after year shows consistency in their quality.

MA Peterson Design Build is proud to be a winner of the following awards:

29 ROMA Awards, Chrysalis Award, ProRemodeler Design Award, BATC Builder of the Year Award, Qualified Remodeler Master Design Award, Multitude of CotY MN Awards, National CotY Awards, Best of the Midwest Design Award, Edina Heritage Award

The MA Peterson team is always proud of their work on each and every project, no matter of the scope.  Our clear, creative and process-driven collaboration with our homeowners, interior designers and build team is by far what sets us apart from the others in the industry. Our various awards are wonderful to have and yes, do support our great work and creativity, but it’s the happiness of the homeowner at the end of a project that means the most to us.

If you would like the award-winning team of designers and craftsmen at MA Peterson to assist you in your project, contact us at MA Peterson Design Build.